Opinion

Things My Gogo Taught Me

Written by: Durotolu M. Adeleke

My Gogo is ‘Girama’ Mojoyin.

She was betrothed to marry a man she barely knew as it was the custom a century ago. There was no ducking and diving it. Determined to escape poverty and secure her children’s future, she relocated from the South to the far North. She learnt a new language and identified a niche market-Bukateria!

She had no one to loan her money since she had taken a frowned upon stance to send a girl-child to school. The proceeds of the bukateria thereof allowed her to educate a girl-child, my mom, when and where it was unpopular to do so.

My Mom

My Mom knew what was at stake. She worked hard to prove naysayers wrong. She got admission into the ivy-league government college in the far-north for A-levels and thereafter the nation’s premier university.

Ma’Gogo’s community jeering turned into cheering…she had educated a girl-child who could still fulfil the societal, albeit conservative, expectations of motherhood!

My Gogo is ‘Girama’ Mojoyin.

My Grandmother taught me the power of unyielding determination and sowing enduring seeds for posterity.

Things My Gogo Taught Me

I learnt from her that:

  • hard-work prevails
  • persistence breaks resistance
  • good-fear propels success
  • set-norms can be redefined
  • godliness with contentment is great gain

She taught me to be courageous in a distant land. To count my losses, value money and order my priorities.

A Generation of Resilence

Chef Mojoyin begat Moyoade.
Teacher Moyoade begat Motunrayo.
Dr Motunrayo begat Moradeyo.
TechGuru Moradeyo…the generation of resilience continues because Ma’Gogo persevered.

An Attitude of Gratitude

I am grateful for a Godly foundation. The scripture says:

“One generation shall praise thy works to another, and shall declare thy mighty acts”. Psalm 145:4 KJV

I am thankful for faith which works consistently from generation to generation. It was declared of young Timothy in the Bible,

“I remember your true faith. That kind of faith first belonged to your grandmother Lois and to your mother Eunice. And I know that you now have that same faith. That is why I remind you to use the gift God gave you. God gave you that gift when I laid my hands on you. Now let it grow as a small flame grows into a fire”. 2 Timothy 1:5 – 6 ICB.

It is a commendation and a challenge to maximise the grace in one’s lineage

~~~~~~~~

Durotolu Adeleke is an anaesthiologist, a person of faith, who is also passionate about motivating the girl-child.

Leave a comment