Crucifixion and Resurrection, Devotional

PASSION WEEK: DAY 6 – GOOD FRIDAY – FAMOUS LAST 7 WORDS OF JESUS.

These are the famous Last 7 Words of Jesus, which He spoke while hanging on the Cross.

Famous Last Words #1:

“Father, forgive them, for they don’t know what they are doing” Luke 23:34.

That was in response to the soldiers still nailing Him and physically hurting Him, but it’s also an intercession for all.

Famous Last Words #2: 

“I assure you, today you will be with me in paradise.”  Luke 23:43

That was Jesus responding to the Repentant Criminal.

Last Words #3: 

Jesus made plans for His Mother Provision, and chose His best friend John: He said to His Mother “Dear woman, here is your son.” And to John His Disciple: “Here is your mother.” John 19:25-27.

And that was the end of His communication with humans.

THEREAFTER THERE WAS AN INTERLUDE.

LOCATION: ON THE CROSS. CRUCIFIED

TIME: AT 12:00 – 15:00, FRIDAY

Jesus stopped talking to people, and he focused on His “job”. For those 3 hours, darkness covered the land. At 3:00pm, He spoke again.

Famous Last Words #4: 

“Eli, Eli, lema sabachthani?”

Jesus spoke in Aramaic, which meant “My God, my God, why have you abandoned me?” Matt 27:46; Mark 15:34.

Famous Last Words #5: 

“I am Thirsty.” John 19:28

Famous Last Words #6: 

“Father, I entrust my spirit into your hands!” Luke 23:46b.

Famous Last & Final Words #7: 

“It is finished” John 19:30b.

And He released His spirit. Jesus Died!

Leave a comment